People with disabilities can apply for a variety of parking permits from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Drivers with disabilities and disabled veterans can request handicap Texas license plates, and any person with a qualifying disability can apply for a parking placard. Read below for placard and plate information, application requirements, and other topics related to drivers with disabilities in Texas. Placards: – Blue placard for people with permanent disabilities. Red placard for people with temporary disabilities. International Symbol of Access (ISA) license plate for anyone with a permanent disability. Disabled Veteran (DV) license plate for qualified disabled military veterans. Park in spaces designated for people with disabilities. Park for free in metered spaces. The placard and/or license plate is valid. You use your handicapped parking permit in accordance with Texas law. Have a permanent disability. Are in Texas for medical treatment. You can apply for a disabled parking permit online from your local Texas tax collector’s office. The Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate (Form VTR-214). By mail: A copy of your driver’s license or ID card.
In person: Take your TX driver’s license or ID card with you. Take or send all of your application materials to your local Texas county tax office. NOTE: Make sure you keep a copy of your original application because it may be needed to renew or replace your disabled parking permit. You are a veteran with a disability related to military service. You own, co-own, or lease your vehicle. A completed Application for Disabled Veteran License Plates and Parking Placards (Form VTR-615). Proof of eligibility, either: – On the application. In a letter from Veterans Affairs. Personalized plates are available for an additional fee. When your Texas handicap parking permit expires, you will need to renew it. Permanent placards: 4 years. Temporary placards: Up to 6 months. License plates: no renewal required for a permanent disability. The affidavit section of the Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate (Form VTR-214). Your original application OR your placards that are expiring. A completed Application for Persons with Disabilities Parking Placard and/or License Plate (Form VTR-214), including medical certification. Payment for the placard (found on form). To renew a disability license plate, you must renew your vehicle registration with the TX DMV. You can request a replacement for a lost, stolen, or damaged Texas disability placard by submitting a copy of your original placard application to your local Texas tax office. The tax office may be able to look up your information. You may have to reapply for a placard.
If your placard has been lost, stolen, or damaged, you will need to go in person to one of our MVD Now offices. Self-confirm your disability on the form. Provide your disability placard number. Placards for disabled parking allow you to park in designated handicapped parking spaces for easier access to buildings and businesses. Only you can use the permit issued to you. When you park, you must display your placard so that the permit number and expiration date are visible from the front of the car. Do one (1) of the following: – Hang the New Mexico handicap placard on the rearview mirror. Put it on your dashboard if there is no mirror. Here at MVD Now, our goal is for you to make one, quick trip to the MVD! We’re glad to offer you quick, friendly, and efficient handicap placard services! Schedule an appointment today at one of our 8 locations in Albuquerque and Bernalillo or call us at 505-341-2MVD We are close to home or work, for you! Our staff is ready to provide you with exceptional customer service.
Must only be used by the permit holder. The permit holder must have their driver license or ID card on-hand when using the permit. Must be hung from the rear-view mirror, with the permit number visible from the front of the vehicle, when the vehicle is parked. The permit should not hang from the rear-view mirror when the vehicle is in motion. Permits issued in Florida – must have a valid, yellow registration decal attached to both sides of the permit. Must display on one side, the permit holder’s driver license or ID card number, or the authorized organization’s FEID number. On-street meter parking within the downtown or the St. Armands area have meters along their main corridors. What if I still get a Parking Citation? Disabled parking placard and Matching Driver’s license, you may appeal the citation by completing the Request for Disabled Citation Dismissal. Request for Citation Dismissal. What Documents do I need to bring? Valid Issued Disabled Parking Placard or Vehicle registration indicating Disabled License plate. Driver’s license that corresponds to the Disabled parking placard/license plate and Driver’s License of Persons Driving the vehicle.